Seen a Scammer? Report Them!

Seen a scammer? Been caught out? Let the world know so they don't get burned. Add information if you see one that's already been logged - scammers move quickly and change details often to avoid detection. Details you log here will be in major search engines within an hour or two.

Please Like, Share, Tweet etc. to spread the word.
John Doe
2014-10-04 03:58:51
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Scammer Source was Financial Fraud
Business Venture Scam

Scammer Information
NameRoy King BSc Hons    
Telephone+852 5808 3610     ⇒ Reverse Phone Lookup (by Spokeo
Fax+852 5808 3622    

Details of Scam Report
I got called by a "call center agent," "broker" and the "legal department" of an organization billing itself as "Baron-Moore Associates." They claimed to be a "brokerage" based in Hong Kong. They offered to sell me shares that they had bought in bulk at a discounted rate. I would thus "save" 20% of the usual share price. This was a somewhat unusual offer. I asked for more information and was sent this E-mail: ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Mr. Otets,
Attached to this email is the following documentation:
Order Confirmation Invoice Transfer Instructions Account Application Form (including Terms & Conditions)
A member of our Client Services team will call you on September 11, 2014 at 08:45 CET to assist you with the documentation.
Subsequent to completing the transaction, please return the following documents to us via fax or email.
A copy of your Telegraphic Transfer Receipt A signed copy of your Account Application Form
Yours sincerely, Client Services Baron-Moore Associates The Landmark - Gloucester Tower, 11 Pedder Street, Central, Hong Kong Tel: +852 5808 3610 Fax: +852 5808 3622 Email: Website: ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Enclosed in the E-mail was "an order confirmation," "transfer instructions" and an "account application form." The transfer instructions included the following information:
Please issue an International Telegraphic Transfer as detailed below. Details of Beneficiary Beneficiary Account Name: HAMTRON LIMITED Beneficiary Address: 1/F, CAUSEWAY PLAZA TWO 463-483 LOCKHART ROAD CAUSEWAY BAY HONG KONG Account Number: 023 314 610 838 Name of Bank: HONGKONG AND SHANGHAI BANKING CORPORATION Address of Bank: 1/F, CAUSEWAY PLAZA TWO 463-483 LOCKHART ROAD CAUSEWAY BAY HONG KONG SWIFT / BIC Code: H S B C H K H H H K H
I was a bit baffled. The callers had used an anonymous phone number. They could not provide a straight answer to a simple request: "Please give me your phone number because I am busy right now." Instead, I was told that they were always on the phone or on the trading floor and that they would call me back, which they did frequently.
Meanwhile I checked the domain registration of the "company" and came up with the following:
Domain Name: BARON-MOORE.COM Abuse email:
Registrant: PROTECTSERVICE, LTD. 27 Old Gloucester Street London WC1N 3AX United Kingdom +44.02074195061
Registered Through: Administrative Contact: PROTECTSERVICE, LTD. 27 Old Gloucester Street London WC1N 3AX United Kingdom +44.02074195061
Technical Contact: PROTECTSERVICE, LTD. 27 Old Gloucester Street London WC1N 3AX United Kingdom +44.02074195061
Billing Contact: PROTECTSERVICE, LTD. 27 Old Gloucester Street London WC1N 3AX United Kingdom +44.02074195061
Name Server: NS1.ZEROPID.COM Name Server: NS2.ZEROPID.COM
Creation Date: 2013-08-21 Expiration Date: 2015-08-21
So they claim to be a legitimate financial services company but their employees use anonymous numbers and can't provide you with a phone number to call them back. Now it turned out that their domain was also registered anonymously. When I asked why this was the case, I was told that "I'm not responsible for IT." "Fair enough" I said. I then asked how long the company has existed. I literally got the answer: "For 7 years since 2001." It was obvious that this was a complete fraud.
I proceeded to inquire about registration with the relevant financial authorities. After all, these folks wanted to sell me shares that were trading on the NASDAQ and the Hang Seng. Surely, they would then be registered as brokers. I was assured that they were registered with the financial authorities in both markets. I then checked here:
But I came up with nought. I asked again: Do you guys have a registration number with the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority? The answer: "Yes we do but it is confidential." Any fool can figure out that it would not be confidential if FINRA provides a broker check on their website.
Further research revealed that the name "Baron-Moore" turned out to be a joke of sorts. There used to be a financial services firm called Barron Moore that was registered with FINRA but they got expelled for the illegal sales of unregistered penny stocks. More information here:
In contrast to Barron Moore, "Baron-Moore" is not illegaly selling stocks - they are simply defrauding (greedy) folks that want to buy stocks (at discounted rates).
I then went on to another red flag, namely the transfer of money to another company called Hamtron Limited. Why should I buy shares from Baron-Moore and then wire money to Hamtron Limited? The answer: Because they are "our clearing house." Another boldfaced lie, of course. Perfunctory research reveals that there is no clearing house by that name registered with the authorities in Hong Kong.
Baron-Moore is a chimera - there is no registered business by that name. The only registered business is Hamtron Limited which exists for the sole purpose of funneling money to the gang behind this scam.
If you get called by these gangsters, don't immediately hang up. Please contact the relevant law enforcement authorities in your country and drop an e-mail to:

Tag Cloud
beneficiary 02074195061 bought check contact national numbers account claim agent employee transaction responsible service 20% ltd business transfer sent buy sell legal bank share confidential sincerely client will ach (including terms & condit... (greedy) (at discounted rates) dear mr. otets,n financial financial services

  |   Add to Report?   |   More Business Venture Scams   |   Problems?   |  
 Got more information on this Scam? Add to Report
Search scamalot