eBay vintage trailer scam - Scamalot

Seen a Scammer? Report Them!

Seen a scammer? Been caught out? Let the world know so they don't get burned. Add information if you see one that's already been logged - scammers move quickly and change details often to avoid detection. Details you log here will be in major search engines within an hour or two.

Please Like, Share, Tweet etc. to spread the word.
  Scam type at Advanced Search      
Scam ReporterScam Tips Received
Knoxville, TN, United States
2014-07-19 14:54:19
Auction/eBay Scam
eBay (www.ebay.com)
+1 eBay vintage trailer scam 
Stepanie Laughlin
Email Address:
Husband had died of cancer and she needed to sell his vintage camper. Lists all the right things about it and then says \"she hopes to get $3000. for it\" on eBay auction. She only used text and email to communicate. She sent us a link for more photos of the camper using a photobucket account under her name. We were then sent a fake eBay payment invoice too with how to \"green dot\" our payment. eBay invoice came from \"on behalf of\" and none of the links worked. A wonderful manager at CVS Pharmacy warned of fraud and how the \"green dot\" cards worked (we always used paypal). We decided to look closer at the invoice and found no item number was listed as well as links not working. That was the end of it for us. We tried to contact eBay to report the scam and verify everything but the item number and page had been taken down by eBay at the same time we were filling out the form. Avoid anything to do with this group at purchase-solutions@tech-center.com

Her email address is stelaulin@gmail.com

Follow Ups/Extra Information. Most recent is listed first.
Anonymous   () Added the following extra information on :2014-07-21 12:59:35
Stephanie Laughlin
Email Address:
Scam Website:
eBay listing was under the user name chelsey5990 in Marysville, MI Listing and user ID was removed the morning of Friday, July 18, 2014
Initial contact is made by message from 918-609-3149 requesting personal email so sale can be discussed.
First email contained Photobucket link - http://s1052.photobucket.com/user/stephalaughlin/library/
Additional email arrived from "eBay" with explicit payment instructions via Green Dot MoneyPak. The "eBay" email address was - purchase-solutions@tech-center.com A fax # was also given - +1 585 326 1255
She stated the Airstream was located at an address in Louisiana. The owners of that home declared there was no Airstream there for sale.

Scam Email
Hi, Here you have some pics with the trailer: http://s1052.photobucket.com/user/stephalaughlin/library/ As mentioned this was my husband\'s trailer. In 2010 he was diagnosed with the dreaded cancer, but sadly he lost his battle and passed away. Everything works and operates as it should. I\'m looking to get $3,000.00 for the trailer. If you want to buy it now you will have to send me your eBay user ID, your name and address and I will ask eBay to send you the payment invoice with further instructions on how to make the payment. Thanks,

 Got more information on this Scam/Scammer?
Add to Report
 Problems with this Report? (Spam/Legal/Abuse etc) ?
Report to Scamalot
Curious what information about you is out there? You may be surprised! | Reverse Email Lookup | Reverse Phone Lookup

Increase ad revenue 50-250% with Ezoic