Untitled Classified Ads Scam , ref:9527 - Scamalot

Seen a Scammer? Report Them!

Seen a scammer? Been caught out? Let the world know so they don't get burned. Add information if you see one that's already been logged - scammers move quickly and change details often to avoid detection. Details you log here will be in major search engines within an hour or two.

Please Like, Share, Tweet etc. to spread the word.
  Scam type at Advanced Search      
Scam ReporterScam Tips Received
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2013-05-02 10:09:52
Classified Ads Scam
+1 Untitled Classified Ads Scam , ref:9527 
Jacqui Barwick
Email Address:
Scam Website:
i thought this was real, wanting to buy a car off me. very believable, i even looked up the AWE New zealand pty limited and it exist, but when i looked up the west aquarius submersible, it gave me scam details.
Follow Ups/Extra Information. Most recent is listed first.
Anonymous   () Added the following extra information on :2013-05-27 00:08:23
Jacqui Fir
Email Address:
This person sent me an SMS saying "Hi, Am making an enquiry about your car advert is it still available and what is your firm price?Pls contact me on jac.firsail89@gmail.com. Cheers."
I duly replied to the email address and received the following email from jac.firsail89@gmail.com:
"Thanks for the reply am so sorry that i couldn't call you due to the nature of my work,I work with AWE New Zealand Pty Ltd and we are presently on rig at the moment,on the west aquarius submersible to be precise.I would have loved to call you directly but due to the nature of my work we do not have access to phone at the moment,its 20days off and 10days on,which is why I contacted you with internet messaging facility and where is it located at the moment.
I am buying this for my first son who just graduated ontop of his class at Charles Darwin University in NT ,He studied Building Design & Architecture. I want it to be the perfect graduation gift and a surprise package for him ,Does it have any history I should be aware of? and why are you selling if you don't mind my asking.I am already in talks with freighters that will handle the pickup and delivery to my son.I will really appreciate if you can email more info.
As regards the payment, I can pay you through direct bank deposit,using paypal instant bank wire transfer service, I will need your bank details.If you are not comfortable with that, you can set up a paypal account proper and I will make the payment through paypal, this way, all I will need is your paypal email address.
Kind Regards, Jacqui Fir."
This sounded slightly suspicious though elaborate enough to ring true. Why would someone in Darwin want to ship a car sight unseen from Sydney? Why not buy one in Darwin?? Also I had only prepared ny ad on carsguide.com.au the day before and thought they were still in the process of approving it. Searching for some of the message text with google revealed that others have received similar emails!! This has prevented me from being scammed.

Scam Email
jac.firsail89@gmail.com This person must have got my details from a car advert that I placed at cars guide.com.au

 Got more information on this Scam/Scammer?
Add to Report
 Problems with this Report? (Spam/Legal/Abuse etc) ?
Report to Scamalot
Curious what information about you is out there? You may be surprised! | Reverse Email Lookup | Reverse Phone Lookup

Increase ad revenue 50-250% with Ezoic